Transfer Scholarships

cap and money

A number of scholarships are available to MCC students planning to transfer from MCC to bachelor’s degree programs. Questions about these external transfer scholarships should be directed to Jane Fain, Transfer Counselor,, 978-656-3266.


AICPA Foundation Two-year Transfer Scholarship Award

This scholarship $5,000 award is available to students looking to transfer from a two-year college to a four-year institution to complete their degree in accounting or an accounting-related field. Applicants must have a GPA of at least 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale) and be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.


You can find more details and apply here. The deadline to apply is March 1, 2018 at 3 pm ET


The LEADA@Liberty Scholarship

Liberty Mutual Scholarship - Commonwealth Commitment

Administered by the United Negro College Fund (UNCF), the LEADA@Liberty scholarship is available to students of African descent attending community colleges in the metro Boston area. In addition to the scholarship, through the Commonwealth Commitment, students who attend college full-time and maintain a 3.0 GPA receive a freeze on tuition and fees, a 10% rebate at the end of each successfully completed semester, and a full MassTransfer tuition waiver in their third and fourth years at a university.

Eligible students can apply at


New England Transfer Association Scholarship (pdf)

Each year the New England Transfer Association awards several $1,000 scholarships to students transferring from NETA affiliated community colleges to NETA affiliated Baccalaureate institutions. Application is due on March 30, 2018. Review application form for more information.

Student Qualifications:

  • Must be slated to receive an Associate’s degree by the end of the summer 2018 term.
  • Plans to transfer to a NETA-affiliated, four-year institution beginning in fall 2018.
  • Demonstrates consistent academic performance with a minimum 3.25 cumulative grade point average.
  • Has successfully completed a minimum of 30 semester credit hours at MCC at the time of application


UMASS Amherst MassTransfer Scholarships

Please click on the link above for additional information and application.


UMASS Boston Foster Furcolo Scholarship

The UMASS BOSTON Foster Furcolo Scholarship was established to honor Foster Furcolo who served as governor of Massachusetts from 1957 to 1960. He was instrumental in the creation of the system of public community colleges in the Commonwealth.

This is a two-year scholarship covering tuition and most mandatory fees to one graduate of each public community college in Massachusetts. Application is due on April 12, 2018. Review application form for more information.

Eligibility requirements are listed on the application form.

UMASS Boston Transfer Merit Scholarship

This scholarship is for students beginning their first semester at UMass Boston in Fall 2018. The Transfer Merit Scholarship is for new transfer students. It is potentially renewable for students who maintain good standing. The award ranges from $500 to $2,000 per semester.


Deadline: June 15th, 2018

UMASS Dartmouth Transfer Scholarships

By applying and being accepted to UMass Dartmouth, you'll automatically be considered for the following scholarships:

  • Chancellor's Transfer Scholarship
  • Dean's Transfer Scholarship
  • UMassD Transfer Award

Please click the link below for scholarship details.

UMass Lowell Transfer Scholarships

Although not required for all scholarships, UMass Lowell recommends that all students fill out the FAFSA.

line break

Boston University's Metropolitan College Scholarship for Community College Graduates

Recipients of this annual scholarship will receive a 50 percent tuition scholarship for up to 12 credits per semester while they complete their bachelor’s degree at Boston University’s Metropolitan College. Those selected for the Scholarship for Community College Graduates will be required to maintain a GPA of 3.0 or above in order to continue receiving the tuition benefits of the program.

Eligible students can apply at:

line break  


Additional Scholarships


For further information on transfer scholarships, contact Jane G. Fain, Transfer Counselor, by phone at (978) 656-3266 or email her at

Last Modified: 7/27/18